Board of Directors

Community Media Center

Board of Directors

The Community Media Center (CMC) is a non-profit 501c-3 organization with a broad community-based Board of Directors. The majority of the seats are determined by the By-laws and represent a range of organizations and institutions in Carroll County. Board members serve a term of three years. The nominating committee of the Board proposes candidates for each opening which are approved by the Board in January. Each board member serves without compensation.

The Board of Directors was first organized in 2003 to build the new media center which opened November 21, 2004. The Board of the Community Media Center of Carroll County engages in a strategic planning process every 3 to 5 years.

In 2017 the Community Media Center Board of Directors engaged in strategic planning to layout a new blueprint for the vision and mission of the organization.  Based on data from surveys and interviews with partners, key stakeholders, staff, patrons, volunteers, business and community leaders, the Board adopted a strategic framework and planning process. This document advances our driving principles and direction for a vibrant and sustainable future. This framework serves as the foundation for an ongoing  developmental process. Strategic Framework

The CMC Board of Directors is responsible for establishing policy which governs public access to services, resources and content distribution platforms. Read the Community Media Center ‚ÄčPublic Access Policy 

A fundamental purpose of the CMC is to facilitate a forum for free and diverse expression including political speech and to facilitate an informed electorate. Read the Community Media Center Political Campaign Content Policy

Current Board Members

  • Theresa Bethune


    President, InfoPathways, Inc.

  • Dr. Erin Watley


    Assistant Professor, Communication & Cinema Department, DEI Faculty Fellow, McDaniel College

  • Jeremy Green


    Director of Library and Media Services, Carroll Community College

  • Bill Eckles


    Supervisor of Career & Technology Education, Carroll County Public Schools 


  • Bill Butts

    Board Member

    Retirement Specialist

  • Carey Gaddis

    Board Member

    Communications Officer, Carroll County Public Schools

  • Gerard Hart

    Board Member

    CMC Member

  • Gary Honeman

    Board Member

    Licensed Clinical Social Worker

  • Cheryl Giannattasio Knauer

    Board Member

    Director of Public Relations, McDaniel College

  • Erin Snell

    Board Member

    Teacher, Carroll County Public Schools